Seven Unexpected Places To Use The US Dollar

Puerto Rico

After the Spanish-American War, Puerto Rico became a US territory in 1898. In 1952, it became a Commonwealth.


Ecuador moved from SUCRE to USD in 2000. In the 1990s, Ecuadorian inflation reached 100% at the turn of the millennium.


Zimbabwe adopted the US dollar in 2009. Hyperinflation reached 79.6 billion percent by 2008 under President Robert Mugabe, destroying the Zimbabwean economy.


Other US territory Guam has used the dollar since 1950.The country's GDP is $6.2 billion (£4.9bn) according to latest estimates, much lower than America's $25.5 trillion.

US Virgin Islands

US Virgin Islands are a Caribbean archipelago. St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas are bordered by 50 smaller islands.

British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands, like the US Virgin Islands, utilize the American dollar as its currency.

Democratic Republic Of Timor-Leste

Southeast Asian Timor-Leste adopted the US dollar in 2000.After Indonesia seized the island in December 1975, the rupiah was replaced by the dollar.

The 7 Most Amazing Hiking Trails In The U.S